Skip to content

Rosemary Limeade

April 26, 2012

I wont make any excuses this time. By now you realize there are periods of time where I  for at least a month. I’ve always known the times of the year when work was so busy I could scream, but until I started blogging I never realized how much it really effected things. So from here on out I apologize a head of time for my absence in the months of January, April, October and December. You can blame the tax man.

To remedy the situation I thought I’d share with you a fantastic recipe I tested out for a friend’s birthday shindig a few weeks ago. It is a simple summertime drink, perfect for back porches, boats, hammocks, Steeplechase, corn hole, evening strolls or when gosh-darn-it you just pulled weeds for 2 hours and you need a drink. It’s all of those.

Perfect with or without the addition of a little gin, this is going to be my go-to drink this summer. (and please don’t mind my wonky sprig of rosemary below, you can blame my dog for constantly trampling over the rosemary bush… sigh…)

SPARKLING ROSEMARY LIMEADE

adapted oh so slightly from The Kitchn
makes approx 4-6 drinks

1 cup lime juice (from approx 8 limes)
3/4 cup sugar
peel of 2 limes
Two 4 inch sprigs of fresh rosemary, plus more to serve
sparkling or flat water to serve

Stir the lime juice and sugar in a small saucepan and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Lower the heat and cook, stirring frequently, until the sugar is completely dissolved.  Add the lime peel and rosemary sprigs. Simmer for another minute then remove from the heat. Cover and refrigerate overnight (or until you are too impatient to wait any longer to taste this delicious beverage. I served this at a party after only 4 hours and it was a huge hit. Don’t torture yourself)

Strain out the lime peel and rosemary and mix with the chilled sparkling or flat water (either works great, seriously, so don’t be turned away if you don’t have club soda or sparkling water around). Adjust the ratio as needed. Whether individual servings, or making a whole pitcher, I suggest starting with the syrup and add water (and gin if desired) until you have the perfect blend.

Serve over ice with a sprig of rosemary.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

