Skip to content

Chicago Showcase: The Publican & The Epic 11.11.11 Birthday

November 19, 2011

Ever since I was a little kid, I had been dreaming about what my birthday would be like in 2011. The epic 11.11.11 birthday. The Platinum Birthday.

I was certain that it needed to be nothing less than amazing, so when Southwest ran a deal for $39 flights to Chicago, I knew that had to be it. Chicago is pretty much my grownup Disney World, I just love that city. For reasons very near and dear to my heart (my husband’s proposal at the Signature Tower) but also because it is a culinary wonderland. If it were not for the deathly winter perhaps I would take up residence, but for now I will have to suffice for visits (for this, my waistline is likely grateful).

One place we went on our last trip was Avec – one of Paul Kahan’s amazing restaurants. This time around we knew we had to hit up the Publican, another of his adventures. Both are spectacular in their own ways, but similar in style. They are very conducive for sharing, and I would highly suggest going with a large group so you can say yes to everything that catches your eye on the menu.

We had a wonderful group of friends that joined us in Chicago and I am so grateful to them for both being there to celebrate, but also indulging us as we ordered things many us had never tried before. We had quite the spread, including sweetbreads, blood sausage, charcuterie, brussels sprouts, acorn squash, tuna confit, oysters, boudin……

Unfortunately, in our excitement about the food we had ordered, I failed to photograph much more than the menu. The one thing that I was able to capture was the Spicy Pork Rinds. Amazing, to say the least. Its a terrible comparison, but the flavor reminded me of grown-up Cheetos – but of course 100 times better.

And while we did not order this item off the drink menu – we couldn’t help but get a kick out of the item below. That’s smart right there.

Nothing about the restaurant disapointed. If you travel to Chicago any time in the near future I highly recommend you put either (or both) the Publican and Avec on your list. You won’t regret it.

Happy (post) 11.11.11 everyone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike Adamson permalink
    November 20, 2011 12:22 pm

    The Publican is incredible. My favorite small plate restaurant in a city that does a bunch of them really well. Glad y’all had a great time.

Trackbacks

  1. Our Year In Food « FOOD.IS.A.GOOD.THING

Leave a Reply

