Skip to content

Watermelon Lemonade & the Best Food Truck in Nashville

August 21, 2011

This weekend I had the pleasure of spending my Friday evening in the company of some fellow food bloggers and food lovers. The rendezvous was inspired by a Twitter conversation (ah, the power of technology) because we all just couldn’t stop thinking about Riff’s Truck and their amazing Watermelon Lemonade.

While I would by no means claim to be an expert on food trucks in Nashville (or any city for that matter), I feel extremely confident in proclaiming this the Best Food Truck in Nashville. Riff’s Fine Street Food popped onto the Nashville scene about 4 months ago, and I am ashamed to admit that until about a week and a half ago I had yet to experience it for myself. I had heard countless raves from other food lovers around town, and when they finally were near my office for lunch I rushed over. My first visit I went for the Panzanella Salad with Grilled Salmon and a Watermelon Lemonade..

Please excuse the poor quality of my Blackberry camera, but you get the idea. Ton’s of fresh veggies from the farmers market (zucchini, squash, cucumbers, tomatoes, capers (!) olives (!)), corn bread croutons and a beautifully grilled piece of fish. I hear I missed out on the addition of grilled peaches that day, but I wont hold it against them. For $8 it was one of the most deliciously cheap things I have had in a long time, not to mention more food than I could eat in one sitting.

On our epic Friday Happy Hour I got to try the rest of the amazing menu (between multiple glasses of the lemonade) – the amazing Caribbean Burger, complete with a slice of pineapple on top; Mac & Cheese; Thai Noodle Salad; and the Fish Tacos

I am a sucker for taco’s topped with any sort of slaw, and these were no exception – fresh and delicious, not to mention the HUGE filet’s of Tilapia on each one… so big I had to eat the tacos with a fork and knife lest I lose any in my attempt to pick it up.

Not only is the food amazing but the owners 2 of the most friendly guys I have met in a long time, and they strive to run their business in a way that is near and dear to my heart.

If we had to have a motto it would be: EAT. GOOD. FOOD. In a world where words like local, organic, sustainable and even fresh are overused marketing blah-blah we are two people who don’t use those words, we live them. Eat. Good. Food is less a motto than it is a mission statement. ”Good Food” is not only good in flavor but good in the sense that at the end of it you feel like you are glad you ate it because it lacked the empty-calorie-laden, over-processed poison so many businesses (read “corporations”) call “food.” We don’t make our food good because its cool and marketable to do so. We do it because our consciences won’t let us do it any other way! We will NOT cut corners on ingredients to hit a price point. Our food is served with pride and concern for our customers well being.”

If you don’t believe that food from a truck could possibly be this amazing then go check it out for yourself! If you agree vote for them here or here and they just might give you a free puppy... I mean, who doesnt want a free puppy..right? 

In homage to the wonderful time we had on Friday, I give you my best take on their amazing Watermelon Lemonade

WATERMELON LEMONADE
(approx 2 pitchers) 

1 small watermelon (or half of one of those honkers from the grocery store)
2 cups fresh lemon juice (from approx 2 bags of lemons, unless you have a much better juicer than I)
3/4 cup simple syrup

 Cube watermelon and place in food processor or blender, several batches will be necessary. Blend until liquified. Pour mixture through a strainer into a large bowl. Using a spoon, help push the mixture through the strainer (this will give your lemonade a bit more watermelon pulp… unless thats not your thing). Repeat with remaining watermelon. Add lemon juice and simple syrup, stir to combine. Serve chilled.

(Simple syrup is a simple 1:1 ratio. 1 cup sugar, 1 cup water – heat in a small sauce pan until sugar is dissolved, cool)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

