Skip to content

Goat Cheese

March 7, 2011

Enough said? I think so.

Okay, I’ll give you a bit more details (although I must admit, that picture is enough to sell me on that cheese)

I.Love.Goat.Cheese.

Its true. I admit it, I have a problem. I love goat cheese so much that if I ever see it on a menu as a part of a dish, I have a really…. really…reallllllllllyyyy hard time not ordering said dish. I love it.

So needless to say I had been antsy to try making this for myself. 

The problem is finding goat’s milk. As I mentioned in my previous post, Ultra-Pasteurized milk doesn’t do ya much good. While I have noticed goat’s milk at my standard grocer, its all still ultra-pasteurized. So when I found out that my favorite goat cheese makin folks – Noble Springs Dairy – were in the process of finding a bottler so they could sell their goats milk, I couldn’t be more excited.

I found out this week that one of my favorite local grocers was carrying the goats milk, I made a b-line straight from work to go buy some. I knew goat’s milk would be pricey, I was prepared and ready to accept it. But its still a bit tough to swallow. $5.99 per quart… so $24/gallon. Yikes! Now most cheeses make 1lb of cheese per gallon of milk. While my goat cheese recipe told me that 1/2 a gallon of milk would yield 1lb of goat cheese, I think it actually turned out closer to 10-12oz. So for $12 of milk, ending up with the equivalent of one of the long logs of goat cheese is not too bad. It’s just a hard price tag to swallow until you put it into perspective. 

The goat cheese making process is actually pretty simple. On par with, if not even easier than, the quickest cheese making process of Mozzarella. Literally bring the milk to 72 degrees, add the rennet and starter, and then let it sit there for 24 hours. 24 hours later the milk should have coagulated, separating from the whey. At this point you just scoop it out into a cheese cloth lined mold, and let it sit there and drain for 48 hours. This is what I mentioned before as the weird part about making cheese – letting dairy sit on your counter for 48 hours. 

I will admit that once my 48 hours were up and I put my cheese in the fridge I was still a bit apprehensive. My first few bites today were small enough amount that if something was wrong with the cheese, I hopefully wouldnt have eaten enough to make me deathly ill. Success.

The cheese was delicious, having that same pungent flavor you expect from goat cheese (although it could have used a dash of salt, but I had refrained from adding during the creation process as several of my cheese before had turned out way too salty). Impressive. Delicious. Easy. It just requires a little faith.

Now to eat it all before it goes bad. I don’t foresee this being an issue….

Leave a Reply

