Skip to content

Parsley Oil

November 15, 2010

My fantastic sister gifted me with the French Laundry Cookbook by Thomas Keller for my birthday. I immediately sat down and began to soak it all in – got to this chapter and just had to jump right in. We had some parsley from our CSA delivery last week, which I was still struggling to find a better use for than as a simple garnish. This, was my solution – Parsley Oil.

First step is to cut the stems off – I didn’t get too picky with each individual leaf, just went for removing the main stem.

Blanch the parsley for a quick 15 seconds in boiling water, then immediately toss them in ice water to stop the cooking.


After thoroughly drying the parsley, toss it in the blender or food processor. 

I started with about 1/4 cup of olive oil and slowly added a bit more until it reached a consistency I felt good about.

The beautiful results! Cover the blended oil and set in your refrigerator for 12-24 hours. This helps to infuse more of the bright color and flavor of the parsley into the oil.

The next day, take another bowl, cover with a cheese cloth, and pour the parsley oil through the cheese cloth. Let it flow through naturally, don’t squeeze the cloth to accelerate the process – this will lead to a cloudy oil. I let mine drip for about an hour before I tossed the cheese cloth and remaining parsley bits. 

The finished product! I have yet to play around with the use of the oil, but am excited to find some good uses for it. I imagine it will be great for bread dipping or in a salad dressing.

Yum!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

